Apr 09 2022
Soka:  Edgar Meyer And The Scottish Ensemble

Soka: Edgar Meyer And The Scottish Ensemble

Presented by Soka Performing Arts Center and Philharmonic Society of Orange County at Soka Performing Arts Center

A MacArthur Award recipient and the only bassist to receive an Avery Fisher Prize, Edgar Meyer has carved out a remarkable and unique niche in the musical world, taking an instrument normally relegated to the back of the orchestra and realizing its full potential as a musical centerpiece. Through reimagined and original compositions, Meyer makes the bass the focal point of a piece and in his collaborations with other artists, such as Yo-Yo Ma, Joshua Bell, and Chris Thile, he shows how versatile the instrument can be.

Winner of the Ensemble Award in the 2020 Royal Philharmonic Society Awards, the Scottish Ensemble promotes the rich diversity of the string repertoire, exploring adventurous ways through which it can be presented and shared, and seeks out thoughtful ways of connecting classical music to contemporary life.


Holst:  St Paul’s Suite in C major No. 2, Op. 29
Edgar Meyer: Concert Duo for Violin and Double Bass, movement 1
Edgar Meyer: New Commission
Caroline Shaw: “Punctum” (based on Bach Chorale)
Bach: Gamba Sonata
Vaughan Williams (arr. Johnston): The Lark Ascending

Admission Info

$35 - $85
(Senior/Student/Military $31.50 - $76.50)

Phone: 949-480-4278

Email: tickets@soka.edu

Dates & Times

2022/04/09 - 2022/04/09

Location Info

Soka Performing Arts Center

1 University Drive, Aliso Viejo, CA 92656

Accessibility Info